National Museum of Eritrea
The National Museum of Eritrea was inaugurated in 1992 by Woldeab Woldemariam. The Museum was originally located in the former Governor's Palace until it was moved in 1997. It has since been moved to the former Comboni Sisters School for Women. The function of the National Museum of Eritrea is to promote Eritrean history and to present it to people of Eritrea. Furthermore it is to investigate new archaeological sites and explore the history of Eritrea. In 1996, Eritrea nominated these five sites to be considered as UNESCO World Heritage Sites: Adulis, Dahlak Kebir, Matara, Nakfa, Qohaito.
Governor's Palace, Asmara
The former Governor's Palace in Asmara, Eritrea is an Italian neo-Romanesque building in the city centre. It was built in 1899 and was originally destined to be the Governor's Palace of Asmara. The building was designed by Fernando Martini. The Gibi as it is known was converted into a Museum of Asmara during the Ethiopian rule when the Governor's Palace was switched to the present building.